top of page




Our school’s Computing scheme aims to instil a sense of enjoyment around using technology and to develop pupil’s appreciation of its capabilities and the opportunities technology offers to, create, manage, organise, and collaborate. ‘Tinkering’ with software and programs forms a part of the ethos of our curriculum as we want to develop pupils’ confidence when encountering new technology, which is a vital skill in the ever evolving and changing landscape of technology. Through the curriculum, we intend for pupils not only to be digitally competent and have a range of transferable skills at a suitable level for the future workplace, but also to be responsible online citizens.


We enable pupils to meet the end of Key Stage Attainment targets outlined in the National curriculum and our aims align with those in the National curriculum. Our Computing scheme of work also satisfies all the objectives of the DfE’s Education for a Connected World framework. This guidance was created to help equip children for life in the digital world, including developing their understanding of appropriate online behaviour, copyright issues, being discerning consumers of online information and healthy use of technology.



The implementation of the curriculum relates to how the learning is going to be delivered across school, taking the intent of the learning, and translating it into a progressive and effective curriculum. When using a scheme, such as Kapow Primary, the majority of this aspect is taken care of. The Kapow Primary scheme of work is designed with three strands which run throughout:

 • Computer science

 • Information technology

 • Digital literacy


Our National Curriculum mapping document shows which of our units cover each of the attainment targets as well as each of these three strands. Our progression of skills shows the skills that are taught within each year group and how these skills develop year on year to ensure attainment targets are securely met by the end of each key stage.


The Kapow Primary scheme is organised into five key areas, creating a cyclical route through which pupils can develop their computing knowledge and skills by revisiting and building on previous learning:

 • Computer systems and networks

 • Programming

 • Creating media

 • Data handling

 • Online safety

See below for documents relating to the teaching of computing at St Wilfrids. 

Progression of knowledge & skills
Computing Overview
Computing Policy
bottom of page